Vilcek Foundation honors Black immigrants with grant for dance

In addition to the three major prizes in Biomedical Science, Arts and Humanities, and the Vilcek Prize for Excellence, the Foundation will also award six Vilcek Prizes for Creative Promise to immigrant professionals whose early-career work represents a significant contribution to their field, and demonstrates exceptional insight or innovation. In the coming year, three of the Vilcek Prizes for Creative Promise are being awarded in two categories: biomedical science and dance. Each award recipient will receive a cash award of $50,000. 

President Rick Kinsel said “The intellectual and cultural contributions of immigrants are a vital part of the fabric of everyday life in the United States. The 2022 Vilcek Foundation Prizes celebrate outstanding immigrant professionals in biomedical research and technology, and in dance and movement arts.” 

The winners of the Creative Promise in Dance are all Black. 

Photo courtesy of Tatiana Desardouin/Lauriane Ogay

Tatiana Desardouin receives the Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Dance for her presentation of hip-hop and house dance that brings the vernacular tradition of these genres in the Black diaspora to her performances, choreography, and artistic direction. 

*Photo courtesy of Tamisha Guy/Miguel Herrera

Tamisha Guy receives the Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Dance for her evocative and intuitive performance style that blends elements of contemporary, modern, and narrative dance traditions, and for her commitment to furthering her own practice through instruction, collaboration, and mentorship. 

Leonardo Sandoval receives the Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Dance for his dynamic choreography that expands the boundaries of tap as a genre and his unique practice that engages elements of Afro-Brazilian dance traditions including samba, forró, maracatu, and passinho.

In 2021 and 2022, the Vilcek Foundation will produce videos, articles, and profiles celebrating the 2022 Vilcek Foundation Prizewinners and their work. The recipients will be honored in an online ceremony in the spring of 2022.

Share This article on

Leave a Reply